About Us

The South African Centre for Epidemiological Modelling and Analysis (SACEMA) is a national Centre of Excellence founded in 2006. The Centre is funded by the Department of Science and Innovation (DSI), managed by the National Research Foundation (NRF), and hosted by Stellenbosch University. SACEMA's mission is to improve health in Africa, and particularly South Africa, through epidemiological modelling and analysis. Trained in mathematics, biology, physics, statistics, and epidemiology, SACEMA researchers bridge disciplines to understand disease dynamics and improve real-world outcomes. This involves tackling complex health scenarios and developing tools that allow decision makers to navigate uncertainty. We work with a wide variety of health issues, including HIV, TB, vaccine-preventable diseases, emerging infections, cancer, and diabetes. Click here to find out more about our research programme.

Steering Committee:

  • Prof Sibusiso Moyo, Vice-Rector (Research, Innovation & Postgraduate Studies), Stellenbosch University
  • Prof Nico Gey van Pittius, Vice-Dean (Research), Faculty of Health Sciences, Stellenbosch University
  • Prof Juliet Pulliam, Director of SACEMA
  • Prof Jacky Snoep, SARChI Research Chair in Mechanistic Modelling of Health and Epidemiology, Stellenbosch University
  • Prof Louise Warnich, Dean of Science, Stellenbosch University
  • Chair: Dr Kerrigan McCarthy, Pathologist, (Centre for Vaccines and Immunology), National Institute for Communicable Diseases
  • Prof Mary-Ann Davies, Director, CIDER, University of Cape Town and Public Health Medicine Specialist, Western Cape Department of Health
  • Dr Harry Moultrie, Senior Epidemiologist, National Institute for Communicable Diseases and Convener of the South African COVID-19 Modelling Consortium
  • Prof Jessica Metcalf, Associate Professor, (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology & Public Policy), Princeton University
  • Dr Rose Msiza, Director, Research Support, Department of Science and Innovation
  • Dr Makhobetsa Khati, Executive Director (Research Chairs & Centres of Excellence), National Research Foundation
  • Ms Glaudina Loots, Director, Health Innovation, Department of Science and Innovation
  • Dr Yogan Pillay, Country Director for South Africa and Senior Global Director for Universal Health, Clinton Health Access Initiative

Scientific Advisory Committee:

  • Prof Cheryl Cohen, Head, Centre for Respiratory Disease and Meningitis, NICD and Professor of Epidemiology, Wits University
  • Prof Jonathan Dushoff, Professor of Biology, Mathematics, & Statistics, McMaster University
  • Prof Julia Gog, Professor of Mathematical Biology, University of Cambridge
  • Prof Kesh Govinder, Professor of Mathematics, University of KwaZulu-Natal
  • Chair: Prof Jessica Metcalf, Associate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology & Public Policy, Princeton University
  • Prof Mathildah Mokgatle, Professor and Head of the Department of Public Health, Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University
  • Prof Juliet Pulliam, Director: SACEMA and Professor of Applied Mathematics, Stellenbosch University
  • Prof Sheetal Silal, Director: Modelling and Simulation Hub, Africa and Associate Professor, University of Cape Town

DSI-NRF Centre of Excellence in Epidemiological Modelling and Analysis